Home > GTA > [North Toronto] Miller Tavern

[North Toronto] Miller Tavern

February 12, 2012 Leave a comment Go to comments

As per our Valentine’s Day tradition, we went to Miller Tavern for dinner this Saturday.

Miller Tavern is one of our favourite spots for a nice night out. Charles and I are never disappointed by the quality of the food and we absolutely love the steak there.

Photo credit by GooglePhoto credit by Google Image…

We started our dinner with an assortment of oysters. After trying the raw clams at Wolfgang’s in NYC, I was determined to give oysters a try. We each tried four types of oysters: Kusshi, Kumamoto, Malpeque, and another East Coast oyster (can’t remember the name!). Even as a novice, I could tell that the oysters from East and West coast are different. The most distinctive difference is the size of them. West Coast oysters are much smaller, but look meatier. In terms of taste, West Coast oysters have  a milder and smoother taste. I really enjoy the plump and creamy taste of the West Coast oysters. As fo East Coast oysters, the taste is saltier and more “ocean-y,” but not as plump in texture compare to the West Coast counterparts. Charles likes the Malpeque the best and I can’t decide which one I like best, I just know I really enjoyed every single slurp of the slippery gooey awesomeness. I can’t believe I have never had raw oysters before this. I have been missing out on this culinary delight all these years! Now I really look forward to our trip to Boston, during which I intend to splurge and eat lots of oysters. :)

Instead of sticking to our usual choices of steak, I ordered the grilled portobello mushroom with goat cheese and braised veal osso buco from the Valentine’s Day menu. Charles ordered his usual porterhouse steak with a broiled lobster tail for me.

Valentine’s Day Menu

I loved my grilled portobello mushroom. It was grilled, stuffed with couscous, diced onions, and tomatoes, and then topped with a thick layer of smooth and creamy goat cheese. The mushroom was still very moist and went very well with the tasty couscous. The rich and creamy taste of the goat cheese complimented the mushroom and I thoroughly enjoyed every bite of it. Even Charles, who claimed he did not like goat cheese, was stunned by how tasty this appetizer was.

Charles loved his porterhouse, as usual. He ordered it rare and I was very hesitant to give it a try, as it looked so… RAW! However, I had to admit, it was very juicy and tender, as long as I tried not to think about how raw it looked once it was cut open. I still prefer my steak medium rare. :p Charles’ porterhouse also came with a side spinach salad. I couldn’t try it because it was topped with walnuts. He said it was tasty…

My osso buco was a little disappointing… The veal was full of flavour, but slightly drier than what I would prefer. Charles also thought it was a bit too dry. I regretted going for the Valentine’s Day menu instead of our usual steak… The polenta crouton was extremely salty and I could not eat it anymore after my first bite. :(

Miller also forgot about my lobster tail and it came 15 minutes after our entrees were served. It was on the house, so we were happy about it. The lobster tail was cooked to perfection and I wish I could have more. I think we always overcook our lobster when we make it at home because it never tasted as good!

Overall, it was a good meal. We loved everything except the osso buco. Miller never disappoints us with its superb seafood and steak! We were too full to have any dessert or coffee after our meal.

I feel the need to post more pictures on the past dinners we’ve enjoyed at Miller.

Calamari

Tenderloin topped with crab meat

Porterhouse Steak with roasted vegetables

Tavern Beef Tenderloin w/ Lobster Tail

US Prime New York Striploin w/ Lobster Tail

Chocolate Mocha Cappuccino Trio

Vanilla Creme Brulee

Miller Tavern now has two new locations in Downtown Toronto. I haven’t had the chance to try them yet but I certainly hope the quality of the food stays the same!

Miller Tavern on Urbanspoon

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 45 other followers

