Home > GTA > [Entertainment District] Smoke’s Poutinerie

[Entertainment District] Smoke’s Poutinerie

December 17, 2011 Leave a comment Go to comments

Charles and I love poutine and we were super excited to try the special poutine at Smoke’s Poutinerie.

The menu offers a good variety of poutine with unique toppings, in addition to the traditional poutine with gravy and cheese curds.

It took us a while to decide what to have. In the end, Charles and I ordered the hogtown poutine (double-smoked bacon, italian sausages, mushroom, and onion) to share and Andrew ordered the bacon cheeseburger poutine (ground beef, double-smoked bacon, cheese sauce) for himself.

I was shocked to see the bill! Almost $17 for 2 regular size poutine!

I tried both poutine and the gravy had a bold smokey flavour, but a bit more watery than my liking. I thought the bacon flavour was toooo overwhelming and there was nothing special about the fries. The cheese curds were also not squeaky like the ones we have had in Quebec. I wasn’t too impressed by the poutine, but the boys loved it.

What’s not to like? Bacon… good! Sausage… good! Ground beef… good! Gravy… good! Cheese… good! The poutine here is boy food! Charles and Andrew wanted to order another poutine to share but I saved them from the potential coronary heart disease that may take their lives. However, Charles reassures me that Abbott Vascular (the company that he works for) has industry leading drug eluting stents just for that purpose!

I don’t think I’d come back for more poutine. Perhaps I would reserve it as a reinforcer for Charles to take me to watch a show or concert!

Smoke's Poutinerie - Entertainment District on Urbanspoon

  1. December 28, 2011 at 10:59 pm | #1

    I have a love hate relationship with Smokes. Its so amazingly delicious but then I feel disgustingly guilty after. I wish it wasn’t such a heart attack in a box!

    • January 4, 2012 at 2:45 pm | #2

      I felt disgustingly guilty after a few bites! The boys loved it and I think I may actually like the regular poutine there. The toppings are simply too greasy for my taste. :(

  2. April 13, 2013 at 10:46 pm | #3

    I agree with Mary! I got the nacho grande, which I was sort of talked into getting, but I actually really liked it. The only problem is, it is SO filling! Any places you would suggest to go to for poutine?

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 45 other followers

