Home > GTA > [Aurora] Maple Sushi

[Aurora] Maple Sushi

October 16, 2011 Leave a comment Go to comments

Thanks to all the spam we receive in the mail, we discovered Maple Sushi!

We were really skeptical when we entered the restaurant. It was 6:30 on a Friday night and only one family was dining there at the time. That was a red flag to me but Charles insisted that we should at least give Maple Sushi a chance.

Not sure if it was recently renovated, but the place was really clean and bright.

We decided to try the all-you-can-eat dinner and I was very happy to see the selection of food for the buffet. The dinner order sheet was a letter-size paper filled with options!

They were also giving out complimentary lobster salad to customers. The lobster was slightly overcooked but who cares? It was free! :) I ate Charles’ share and I was quite content with the service from the start.

We loved the food. Everything was well prepared and fresh. I loved the dynamite hand roll and maki. Instead of using quartered cucumber, Maple Sushi uses shredded cucumber and this attention to detail really impressed me. The sweet soy sauce drizzled in the hand roll and maki also really enhanced the taste. I wish I could eat more of that!

Charles also liked the spicy BBQ salmon skin roll. He said he could taste the rich unagi-style BBQ sauce and it was very flavourful.

We both loved the sashimi. It was very fresh and well prepared. There was no skin or dark meat in the cut and the slices were generously thick! I thought the spicy salmon sushi had too much tempura batter in it and it was not spicy enough. Charles loved it though.

The selection of cooked food was impressive. Maple Sushi also did not impose a limit on any of the food items. Charles loved the garlic beef and beef yakitori. The garlic beef was very flavourful and buttery, and the beef yakitori was very tender.

We both loved the chicken wings at Maple Sushi. It was lightly battered and super juicy.

The chicken cutlet and gyoza were overcooked and dry. However, the food was very tasty overall!

I was impressed that even the ice cream had decent presentation. A lot of the all-you-can-eat places pre-scoop the ice cream and keep it in the freezer. The ice cream usually end up being hard and sometimes crusty because of that. Maple Sushi has freshly scooped ice cream and puts it in a nice leaf-shaped plate. :)

We were very impressed with the food and the service at Maple Sushi. This is now our favourite sushi place in Aurora and we will be sure to visit there frequently.

Maple Sushi on Urbanspoon

  1. October 25, 2011 at 12:00 pm | #1

    Judging by the number of blog posts you have in Aurora, I’m going to assume you’re from around there? I’m so glad to find a blogger that lives UPPPP town like me! haha. it’s so difficult to find things to eat uptown when everyone is blogging about downtown Toronto. Great post, love your blog! =)

    • October 25, 2011 at 12:12 pm | #2

      Hi Mary,

      Thank you for checking out my blog! I just recently moved up here so I am searching for good places to eat! So far I really do miss the variety of food in Toronto but I am sure I will find something I absolutely love up here. :)

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 45 other followers

