Home > GTA > [Downtown UofT] Guu

[Downtown UofT] Guu

October 10, 2011 Leave a comment Go to comments

Since its grand opening in Toronto, Guu has now become the place to go for authentic izakaya dish in Toronto. It’s always packed inside and it can take hours just to grab a table, but the unique food and fun, entertaining atmosphere makes it worth the wait, even on those bone chilling nights!

Charles and I were very lucky to skip the long line on a weekday evening to visit Guu. Even though we got there 5 minutes after it opened, we still somehow waited for about 10 minutes before we were seated.

Just like any other izakaya, all the servers/chefs greeted us loudly in unison. We were lucky to get a table for two, instead of sitting on a communal table.

The selection of food was amazing and the price seems fair. We started with Taco wasabi and I loved it. Crunchy octopus with spicy wasabi really opened up your appetite and it tasted great in crisp nori (seaweed)!

I loved, loved, loved, this Kabocha Korokee. It’s a deep fried pumpkin with a boiled egg inside. I am not a huge fan of pumpkin but I love the sweet taste of THIS pumpkin with tangy mayo on top. It was super flavourful and seemed to be a very popular item at Guu (no wonder!).

This Gyu Tongue was very different from the beef tongue we’ve ad before. The slices were slightly thicker but still tender. I thought it could use a bit more salt.

The Tontoro (pan fried pork cheek) was delicious. The cheek was succulent. Very juice and tender. The yuzu pepper sauce really enhanced the taste of the park. Loved this dish!

I love intestines! I had to order this dish when I was it on the menu. The Horumon (pan fried pork intestine) was awesome. It was well marinated and very tasty. A few pieces of the intestine were a bit too fatty for my liking.

Tacoyaki is a must when we go to Izakaya. I have to say I didn’t really love the tacoyaki at Guu. The octopus pieces were really tiny and the tacoyaki was a bit too mushy. I think Kenzo still makes the best tacoyaki.

We both really enjoyed the scallops. It was very fresh and sweet. The scallops went very well with sweet soy sauce and garlic.

The food at Guu was great and the service was very quick and courteous. It is definitely a fun place to hang out with friends and enjoy some unique food. It’s been a while since our last visit to Guu. We should plan for another visit soon… :)

Guu Izakaya on Urbanspoon

  1. October 25, 2011 at 11:56 am | #1

    I absolutely love guu! Last time I went I had the Chicken Karage (which is basically fried chicken) and it was AMAZING. I’d say it might be the best in Toronto. Give it a try next time! =)

    • October 25, 2011 at 12:14 pm | #2

      I will for sure give it a try next time I visit Guu (hopefully soon!). :)

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 45 other followers

