Home > GTA > [Aurora] Sushi Kui

[Aurora] Sushi Kui

September 25, 2011 Leave a comment Go to comments

I love sushi and I am always in the mood for sushi. After visiting Honba, Charles and I are determined to find a decent sushi place in the Aurora/Newmarket area. We ventured out to try another sushi place this weekend and this experience has lent additional supporting evidence consistent with our initial hypothesis that there are no good Japanese food in Aurora/Newmarket!

We went to Sushi Kui this Friday and found the restaurant to be packed. This is a good sign, especially for a place that serves sushi and sashimi. We were seated quickly in a cozy corner in the restaurant and started to look at their all-you-can-eat menu.

The selection of food items was really great. We went with our usual order: Miso soup, salmon sashimi, spicy salmon sushi, tobiko sushi, chicken katsu, teriyaki beef, calamari, and shrimp tempura. We ordered the tempura spicy salmon roll and spicy red dragon roll out of curiosity. We were shocked to see that Sushi Kui puts a limit on their grilled items (i.e., chicken/beef/shrimp skewers and beef roll with green onions) because we’ve never seen this practice in any other all-you-can-eat restaurants.

My miso soup came first. Instead of using the standard wakame seaweed, Sushi Kui uses nori in the miso soup. The texture was horrible – mushy and powdery. Thank goodness the stock tasted okay.

Then our spicy red dragon roll arrived. It was the standard red dragon roll topped with spicy sauce. It tasted okay, aside from having too much rice in the roll.

Our sushi/sashimi selection was truly disappointing. The salmon sashimi lacked flavour and was really bland. The seaweed sushi and tobiko sushi met our expectations. The spicy salmon sushi was totally appalling – the salmon was garnished with chopped green onion, which had an overpowering taste. It made us wonder whether this was done on purpose to cover any fishy taste.

Our grilled item came as a platter. We tried the chicken skewer first, and there was soooooo much cooking wine in the chicken that it was all we could taste. It was almost as if we were having the Chinese “drunken chicken.” The beef roll was rather dry. We also did not like the super sweet bbq sauce that was drowning our skewers. The only thing I liked was the shrimp skewers and the shrimps were cooked just right.

The tempura spicy salmon roll was also very disappointing. It was basically battered and deep fried spicy salmon roll, topped with soy sauce paste that did not go with the roll at all. The presentation of the roll was also rather poor. We couldn’t even tell what it was until we scraped off the sauce.

Overall, this was a truly disappointing meal. Although several items on the all-you-can-eat menu was adequate and met expectation (e.g., calamari, korean short ribs, shrimp tempura, fried chicken udon), the majority of the items was poorly prepared. The sight of staff (including sushi chef!) smoking right outside the restaurant was also very disconcerting, with the smell of cigarettes finding its way into the restaurant and the fear of poor handwashing practice prior to food preparation. It baffles me how Sushi Kui can have such good reviews on Urbanspoon. I wonder whether the poor food quality is only a concern for all-you-can-eat selection. However, I highly doubt we would go back for à la carte lunch/dinner after seeing a whopping $12.95 for rolls.

Nevertheless, I have to say that the service at Sushi Kui was superb. We were concerned that we wouldn’t receive adequate attention and service because we were seated in the corner. It turned out this was not the case. Our empty dishes were cleared very quickly and I always had a full cup of hot tea with me throughout the meal.

The search for a good Japanese restaurant in Aurora/Newmarket continues….

Sushi Kui on Urbanspoon

  1. Joe
    October 10, 2011 at 1:44 pm

    It’s intriguing how you find a restaurant that’s rated extremely high in Aurora/Newmarket to be as bad as you described it. I’ve been eating at the restaurant since I was a high school student in Aurora and I can say that it’s been one of the best sushi joints I’ve been to around the GTA, and trust me, I’ve eaten at a lot of places. I think the problem is that you have a completely different expectation of what IS and what ISN’T proper Japanese food. The reason why students like myself enjoy the food immensely is because Sushi Kui puts a twist to their food, and while some dishes upholds the Japanese tradition, other’s I would consider it a bit of fusion style. I’ve been to other Japanese restaurants around Aurora like Honba and Maple, and I have to say Sushi Kui overall has the best food you can find. Good luck on your endeavours though to find the best Sushi joint, you might want to head up to Japan for some traditional “Miso Soup”!

    • October 10, 2011 at 2:48 pm

      Hey Joe, thanks for sharing your insight. You brought up a valid point that different people like different things. With any place that takes a risk with a “twist,” you are bound to have those that hate it and those that love it. I’d love to hear your opinions on some of my other posts as well, please feel free to let me know your thoughts.

      Cheers,
      Bubbleangela

  2. October 21, 2011 at 10:55 am

    My own experience with an all-you-can-eat sushi places has been a little disappointing as well. It seems to be a very hit-or-miss format.

  3. February 26, 2012 at 1:42 pm

    I went to Sushi Kui after reading good reviews on Urbanspoon, only to be disappointed. I went in with an open mind, which was not easy since my hubby and I are avid fans of Honba. The sashimi was fresh but the service sucks. The sushi chefs were noisy that night we came in, ruining the romantic ambiance. Our server was delivering our order on the table with a thud, and filled my tea cup up to the brim. As I say, first impression lasts. No more second time for me at Sushi Kui

    • February 26, 2012 at 2:47 pm

      Hi Ellen, sorry to hesr about your disappointing experience at Sushi Kui. I myself was disappointed as well due to the quality of some food. My husband and I found the service to be decent though. The servers worked very fast to deliver food and clean up tables. I think they aim to speed up the table turnover rate but it can certainly ruin a romantic or relaxing dinner.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 45 other followers

